McLain Ward Wins the Devon Grand Prix For The 8th Time

Sunday 02nd, June 2013 / 17:19 Written by
McLain Ward Wins the Devon Grand Prix For The 8th Time

Devon Grand Prix

Ranked by the The North American Riders Group, the Devon Horse Show has been named as the No. 2 show of 2012. With this added title, the Devon Horse Show and Country Fair draws in thousands of spectators. Throughout the 11 days, the number one event that brings the largest crows to the show grounds year after year is the $100,000 Grand Prix of Devon. The prestigious competition involves horse and rider taking on a course of jumps that approach five feet in height.


McLain Ward claimed his eighth Devon Grand Prix win on Thursday 5/30/2013 riding Twelve year old Rothchild. To only sweeten the victory further, Ward also received the McDevitt Style Award for the third time at The Devon Horse Show.


With a turnout of 28 entries to take their shot at the $35,000 winner’s share of the $100,000 Wells Fargo Grand Prix of Devon Thursday night, only five competitors made it back to jump-off for the grand prize. The five competitors who managed to have a clear initial round and make their way back for the jump-off were Ward of Brewster, NY on Rothchild, local favorite Callan Solem of Glenmoore on VDL Torlando, Devin Ryan of Long Valley, NJ on No Worries, Beezie Madden of Cazenovia, NY on Vanilla, and Andrew Welles of Wellington, FL on Boo Van Het Kastanliehof.


Andrew Welles completed a clear round with tight turns setting the pace at 35.815. Just a few seconds later, he was quickly dropped into second place when McLain Ward completed a clear round in the jump off at 33.564. Devin Ryan on No Worries, a 7-year-old Selle Francaise, ultimately placed in third with a time of 36.124 seconds. Local Favorite Callan Solem then followed in fourth place on the Royal Dutch Warmblood VDL Torlando. Pushing for a better time of 35.978, Solem knocked down a single rail at the vertical landing her behind Ryan in the competition.


This is a picture of McLain Ward in the Devon Grand Prix 2013.

1 Comments on “McLain Ward Wins the Devon Grand Prix For The 8th Time

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: